The New Year began quite differently for our 5th year Student Council who had hoped to work with our Well Being Coordinator, Ms. Breen, on a range of well being initiatives for students. 

Alas, on the 6th January 2021, we all found ourselves at home in front of our laptops where three months of online learning began.
Undeterred, the 5th year Student Council met with the Deputy Principal once a month to provide feedback on student issues arising from the lockdown period. 
As soon as the Student Council returned to SMC in person in March, they began preparations for the 6th year Graduation. 
Carmel O Donoghue collected money from each 5th year student to purchase a Graduation mug for the 6th years. Isobel Kingston placed the order for the mugs from Quality Prints Cork. The mug featured a beautiful watercolour design of the blue front door of SMC by Council Member Anna Cronin. The Council then decorated the 6th year Graduation rooms with balloons and bunting, while ensuring that a SMC cupcake, Year Book and Graduation Mug was placed on each 6th year student’s desk. This ensured that our 6th years had a memorable and touching Graduation Ceremony albeit a socially distanced one. 
I would like to thank the 5th year Student Council for their continued hard work and support of all students in Scoil Mhuire. They provided invaluable feedback as to the first online timetable which we ran before the October Mid Term Break. They worked so hard and creatively in their fundraising efforts for Edel House. They brought Christmas cheer to all by “blaring” Christmas songs from the basement and hallway of No 2! However, in their role as Student Council, they always advocated for the needs and voice of all students in a most difficult and unusual school year. .